Home / News

Feb 11, 2020

Equality North Carolina Endorsed Candidates 2020

Candidates endorsed by Equality North Carolina for races across the state in 2020 are listed below. ENC will continue to roll out more endorsements in the coming weeks and months.

NC House
Brian Farkas (9)
Allison Dahle (11)
Debbi Fintak (16)
Deb Butler (18)
Marcia Morgan (19)
Vernetta Alston (29)
Marcia Morey (30)
Grier Martin (34)
Julie von Haefen (36)
Sydney Batch (37)
Abe Jones (38)
Joe John (40)
Gale Adcock (41)
Kimberly Hardy (43)
Cynthia Ball (49)
Graig Meyer (50)
Lowell Simon (52)
Robert T. Reives, II (54)
Verla Insko (56)
Ashton Clemmons (57)
Nicole Quick (59)
Cecil Brockman (60)
Pricey Harrison (61)
Brandon Gray (62)
Ricky Hurtado (63)
Dan Besse (74)
Al Heggins (76)
Aimy Steele (82)
Gail Young (83)
Mary G. Belk (88)
Terry Brown (92)
Ray Russell (93)
Christy Clark (98)
Nasif Majeed (99)
John Autry (100)
Carolyn Logan (101)
Becky Carney (102)
Rachel Hunt (103)
Brandon Lofton (104)
Wesley Harris (105)
Kelly Alexander (107)
Susan Fisher (114)

NC Senate
Harper Peterson (9)
Wiley Nickel (16)
Sarah Crawford (18)
Angela Bridgman (18)
Kirk deViere (19)
Gray Ellis (20)
Natalie S. Murdock (20)
Pierce Freelon (20)
Mike Woodard (22)
Valerie Foushee (23)
Michael Garrett (27)
Wally White (30)
Terri LeGrand (31)
Jose Santiago (35)
Mujtaba Mohammed (38)
DeAndrea Salvador (39)
Natasha Marcus (41)
Jeanne Supin (45)
David Brian Wheeler (47)
Julie Mayfield (49) 

US Senate
Erica Smith

US House
Andy Terrell (2)
Deborah K. Ross (2)
Monika Johnson-Hostler (2)
David Price (4)
David Wilson Brown (5)
Cynthia Wallace (9)
Moe Davis (11)
Alma Adams (12)
Scott Huffman (13)  

Council of State
Governor: Roy Cooper
Lt Gov: Chaz Beasley
Attorney General: Josh Stein
Treasurer: Ronnie Chatterji
Secretary of State: Elaine Marshall
Schools Superintendent: Jen Mangrum
Comm of Agriculture: Jenna Wadsworth
Comm of Insurance: Wayne Goodwin
Comm of Labor: Jessica Holmes 
State Auditor: Luis Toledo

Judicial Races
Jim Black (Wake County)
Hathaway Pendergrass (Orange & Chatham Counties)
Caroline Pemberton (Guilford County)
Gavin Reardon (Guilford County)
Aretha Blake (Mecklenburg County)

Asheville City Council
Kristen Goldsmith (Asheville City Council)
Kim Roney (Asheville City Council)
Nicole Townsend (Asheville City Council)

Alamance County
Dreama Caldwell (County Commissioner)
Kristen Powers (County Commissioner)
John Coleman (School Board)

Buncombe County
Jasmine Beach-Ferrarra (County Commissioner)
Donna Ensley (County Commissioner)
Nancy Nehls Nelson (County Commissioner)

Brownie Newman (County Commissioner)
Parker Sloan (County Commissioner)
Terri Wells (County Commissioner)

Chatham County
Melissa Hlavac (School Board)

Nida Allam (County Commissioner)
LeVon Barnes (County Commissioner)

Heidi Carter (County Commissioner)
Brenda Howerton (County Commissioner)

Wendy Jacobs (County Commissioner)

Johnson Co
Wendy Ella May (County Commissioner) 

Mecklenburg County

Leigh Altman (Commissioner At-Large)
Pat Cotham (Commissioner At-Large)
Ray Shawn McKinnon (Commissioner At-Large)

Lloyd Scher (Commissioner At-Large)
Cade Lee (Commissioner District 3)
Laura Meier (Commissioner District 5)
Susan Rodriguez-McDowell (Commissioner District 6)

New Hanover Couty
Leslie Cohen (County Commissioner)

Orange County
Carrie Doyle (School Board)
Mark Dorosin (County Commissioner)
Mark Marcoplos (County Commissioner)
Renee A. Price (County Commissioner)
Penny Rich (County Commissioner) 

Wake County
Matt Calabria (County Commissioner)

Sig Hutchinson (County Commissioner)
Audra Killingsworth (County Commissioner)
Tammy Brunner (Register of Deeds) 

Wilkes County
D Jerome Watkins (County Commissioner)

Upcoming Events


Stay In Touch

Want to stay updated on the work of Equality North Carolina and the happenings in our state that affect the most vulnerable North Carolinians? Sign up for our updates.